top of page
Marble Surface

Johann Strauss II

Das Comitat geht in die Höh’!, Polka Schnell, Op. 457

Arr. CPE Strauss

00:00 / 02:22

My orchestration from the first edition piano score of this quick polka by Johann Strauss II based on themes from his operetta Jabuka.

As was his usual practice he arranged a set of dances but in this case did not orchestrate any of them apart from the waltz “Ich bin dir gut!”, Op. 455. I have read that this was because of contractual difficulties with his publisher or alternatively that there was not the demand as the operetta was not a success. For whatever reason, it leaves us with some unorchestrated late Strauss dances and I am working my way through them. There are other orchestrations and recordings, of varying quality to which I am adding my own arrangements … also of varying quality. I orchestrated the waltz too, as the only recordings I could find were a bit on the dull side. At some point I will find the full score by Strauss and transcribe that, although I’ll have to be very bored.

It’s a nice late Strauss polka.

bottom of page